DSC’s CEO Leads Supply Chain Panel
Committee of 200 Addresses Significance of the Supply Chain

Chicago, Illinois (November 6, 2008) – Ann Drake, CEO of DSC Logistics, an integrated logistics and supply chain management company headquartered in Des Plaines, Illinois, recently led a panel entitled "The Significance of Your Supply Chain" at the Committee of 200 (C200) Annual Conference. The panel marked the first time the topic of the Supply Chain was a featured session for C200.

Drake was joined by Nancy Nix, Associate Professor of Supply Chain Practice Director, M.M. Neeley School of Business, Texas Christian University; Ellen J. Kullman, recently-named CEO, DuPont Co.; Robin C. Brooks, Chairman & CEO, Brooks Food Group; and Lynn Utter, President & COO, Knoll North America. Professor Nix opened the discussion with a presentation about Demand Driven Supply Networks as the "central nervous system of the World Economy." She also sited the importance of organizations like DSC's ability to manage "moments of truth" by developing processes and systems to "collaborate better with customers to deliver value." Especially in the current climate, she suggested, with factors at play such as intense competition, speed of change, supply chain risk, infrastructure challenges, interdependent global networks, and economic and social pressures, supply chain collaboration accelerates innovation and adaptation. As the discussion continued, infrastructure and capacity issues were highlights as each panel member sited strategies and respective organizational challenges.

  “The feedback from the panel was very positive and several attendees remarked that they came away with a new perspective on the supply chain's value as a strategic business tool,” said Drake. “With supply chain best practices resulting in a 10% cost advantage, there is huge economic potential in an efficient and flexible supply chain.” Founded in 1982, The Committee of 200 is a pioneering organization of women executives in successful private and public companies. The Annual Meeting was held September 18-21 in Dallas, Texas.


Contact us for more information.